The airplanes set the standard – a visit to the Heidelberg airport, Johannesburg

Winter is here (1 of 1)

A man from all countries: Although not the person we went to photograph, this flight manager was such an interesting character I had to snap him. On the back of his jacket are the locations he has worked as a pilot.

Winter is here (2 of 2)

Shot at the Rand Air Show in 2010, I am amazed at how much my photographic style has adapted since then.

One of South Africa’s most widely distributed magazines, DRUM, invited me to photograph an up an coming pilot at the Heidelberg Airfield. Behind the scenes I quickly snapped some airplanes and it reminded me that the last time was this close to some airplanes was in 2010 when I shot  these with my old Tamron 200mm.

Man things sure have changed since then. It’s amazing to see how much your photographic style can change over two or three years. I am so much more confident in my abilities as a photographer.

Winter is here (1 of 3)

2013 – Heidelberg Airfield

Winter is here (2 of 3)

2013 – Heidelberg Airfield

Winter is here (1 of 2)

2010 – Rand Air Show

Leave a Reply

