A landscape #photo holiday in #CapeTown part 2

For part 1 click here!

Following a great few days on the beach we traveled to the interior of Cape Town. Here there are many nature reserves perfect for hiking and camping as well as the origins of South Africa’s wine farms in Stellenbosch.

Cape Town

Before the arrival of my ND filter, we took a brief trip to the Helderberg Mountains. A Protea strewn nature reserve full of colour. 50mm 1/5000 at f1,4

Cape Town

Stellenbosch wine lands. 50mm 1/8000 f1,6. I find when I go to wine lands I look out for this type of photo. A down the line shot with the vineyards in the background.

Cape Town

4 sec at f22. On this particular day there were large swells hitting the rocks. I needed to find a means of comparing the scale of the waves, which is why I took this shot with the people sitting on the rocks.

Cape Town

Near close to dark a couple stood on the rocks giving me a chance to get a silhouette. A very photojourn sort of shot (sometimes you can’t avoid thinking of work with you are on holiday). 1/800 at f1,4

Cape Town

This was the last photo I took form this angle a day later. I had to wait for about an hour to get the right amount of white, with the rosey reflection in the water. 6 second at f22

Someone asked me to demonstrate the difference between a slow shutter speed and a fast. This was shot at 1/60 at f,16.

Someone asked me to demonstrate the difference between a slow shutter speed and a fast. This was shot at 1/60 at f,16.  Compare this to the above shot and you can also see the effects of depth of field. In this shot the ships in the background are blurry, whereas the foreground is sharp. Compare this to the above shot.

Leave a Reply

